MONEY: THE LOOT OF ALL EVIL

I rob banks because that’s where the money is. –Willie Sutton (though he denied saying it in his autobiography WHERE THE MONEY WAS)

  • * * * * * * * * * ** * * * * * * * * * * * *  * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

It occured to me, as I was thinking about this, my 253rd post, that few (if any) of my previous 252 posts were about money….in fact, I can recall mentioning money in only one post, in the opening line of a 24-line poem titled A MIND IS A TERRIBLE THING TOO CHASTE:

Money may talk,
Though I can’t hear it —
It takes a walk
When I come near it.

So a mistermusing on the subject seems long overdue….not unlike many of the bills I owe. Just kidding. I don’t not owe nothing to no one — no one that I owe of, anyway.

Anyway, what I want to say, as is my wont to say when I can think of nothing more to say, is that I hope you enjoy the following quotes. I trust you will find them on the money:

A bank is a place that will lend you money if you can prove that you don’t need it. –Bob Hope

The lack of money is the root of all evil. –Mark Twain

Money was fun only until you ran out of things to buy. –Gloria Swanson, actress (silent films, Sunset Boulevard, other movies)

Money, it turned out, was exactly like sex, you thought of nothing else if you didn’t have it and thought of other things if you did. –James Baldwin

Money and women are the most sought after and the least understood of any two things we have. –Will Rogers

Where I was brought up, we never talked about money because there was never enough to furnish a topic of conversation. –Mark Twain

What this country needs is not more money, but more people who have some of it. –Evan Esar

I am having an out of money experience. –Anonymous

We live by the Golden Rule. Those who have the gold make the rules. –Buzzie Bavasi

If you lend someone $20, and never see that person again, it was probably worth it. –Anonymous

Cocaine is God’s way of saying you’re making too much money. –Robin Williams