GIVE ME FIVE

It may not seem so, judging by the 300 or so posts I’ve crammed into this blog the past two years (not to mention my comments and responses here and on other blogs), but I’m a painstakingly slow writer. Perhaps I take too much time to think about what I want to write, and then I compound that interest by re-thinking as I’m writing, then tightening up what I’ve written, then editing, then re-editing what I’ve edited, et cetera (on second thought, make that etc.).

Mind you, it’s not that I feel cursed by an addiction to unattainable perfection, or even to attainable quality. But I’d like to think that ARS GRATIA ARTIS (“Art for art’s sake”) is more than an MGM motto — it’s part of what every creative writer should strive for. Nonetheless, there comes a point where something has to give. There are too many other things I want or need to do, and there are only 24 hours, more or less, in a day. If I can’t yield on quality, the compromise will have to come on quantity.

So, for the month of August, I’m going to slow down, try something a little different. Instead of posting every two or three days (even, at times, daily), I’m going to cut back by publishing every five days (August 5th, 10th, 15th, 20th, 25th and 30th). My hope for this experiment is that by posting less frequently but on a regular schedule, readers won’t miss the dubious pleasure of my company after a day or two, because they’ll know “I’ll be back” on dates certain.

So, give me five. It’s not like I’m asking for a handout.