J TALK

Let’s talk a bit about the “J” ladies who will join us on this 9th walk into my feminine song series. Our stroll starts with a century-old blues, the title of which has origins lost in haze beyond where the crow flies. Speculation has it that the Crow in the title refers to racist Jim Crow laws in Southern states in those vestigial days, or to the name of a Native American tribe, but no one seems to know for sure. In any case, CROW JANE is a ‘blues J’ that’s a jewel of its genre, performed here New Orleans street-style:

Next, we have a sweet little number from 1930. You’ll love her when you see….

I don’t know about you — I could go for more of this gal. But enough walking. This time, we’ll go by Cab (the fare is quite good):

11 comments on “J TALK

  1. Don Frankel says:

    Great song and great footage of my home town. I’m always amazed at how crowded it was even back then, when the population was a lot less. Although more people were always crowded into lower Manhattan. The boros were sparsely populated. There were even farms in Queens when I was a kid.

    It’s a good thing I’m not trying to do this as all I could think of for J is Now It’s Judy’s Turn to Cry. For L though I thought of the old great Civil War Song ‘Lorena’. Not that you should use it just that I was happy I could think of it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • mistermuse says:

      Great footage indeed, Don. Although NYC isn’t my hometown (hardly even been there), I find those old scenes fascinating. As for the song, it’s one of my favorites by the prolific but forgotten composer of such old standards as LOVE ME OR LEAVE ME, YOU’RE DRIVING ME CRAZY and LITTLE WHITE LIES, Walter Donaldson.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie says:

    I’m so sorry I have been basically MIA from the blogosphere. Things have been shifting and changing so I got knocked off balance. Things are finally settling down so I should be able to keep up better now. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. literaryeyes says:

    Reblogged this on Mary Clark, Writer and commented:
    Great American music

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

