TOP TEN BOTTOM FEEDERS

In the time-honored tradition of year-end Top Ten lists, for this year-end post I was considering making a list (and checking it twice) of 2016’s top despots: bottom-of-the-barrel leaders who excel at such admirable attributes as indiscriminate bombing of combatants and innocents alike, massive corruption, repression, and just being all-around model role models. We’re talking strong(man) leaders like North Korea’s Kim Jong-un and Syria’s Bashar al-Assad, or even The Donald’s favorite ruffian, Russian Vladimir Putin.

But I saw there are already a number of such lists on the Internet, naming the same usual suspects….so, knowing of no under-the-radar tyrants to set my compendium apart from existing lists, I realized I’d better take a different tack and come up with something better.

Instead of “Top Ten Bottom Feeders,” how about a BOTTOM TEN TOP FEEDERS list? On second thought, I’m not even sure that makes sense, but in any case, it’s highly ten-uous, and definitely for the birds. Perhaps a TOP TEN FRANZ  Liszt? His Hungarian Rhapsodies were a hit; unfortunately, they’re strictly from Hungary, and did any of his other works make it into the Top 10? I seriously doubt it.

I suppose I could go back to a variation of my original plan with a list of literal TOP TEN BOTTOM FEEDERS, such as catfish and crabs, but who wants to read about meowing fish and grumpy crustaceans? How low can you get?

My fellow Americans, there comes a TIME in every man’s life. The least I can do on the brink of the New Year is save you the trouble of making resolutions you can’t keep, so I yield to my own list-untenability and offer TIME MAGAZINE’s list of “Top 10 Commonly Broken New Year’s Resolutions”:

Lose Weight and Get Fit

Quit Smoking

Learn Something New

Eat Healthier and Diet

Get Out of Debt and Save Money

Spend More Time with Family

Travel to New Places

Be Less Stressed

Volunteer

Drink Less

I’LL DRINK TO THAT!

21 comments on “TOP TEN BOTTOM FEEDERS

  1. painkills2 says:

    Learn something new. How silly is that? Our brains learn new things everyday. Get out of debt OR travel to new places? Can’t have both. I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. I don’t think it’s good for me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mistermuse says:

    I’ll drink to that too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arekhill1 says:

    Done all of those things. Just not all of them in the same year.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carmen says:

    Cheers to you, mistermuse! We’re attending a New Year’s Eve party which begins at 5:30 and midnight is at 9:00. That way, no one will be asleep! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. linnetmoss says:

    Haha! My list includes Spending Less Time With Family, Drinking More, Traveling to Places I’ve Already Been and Liked, and Learning Something Old. Have a wonderful 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Don Frankel says:

    Great list Muse and I’ll drink to it myself. If anyone is interested in doing any of the things on this list there are the DVDs to help you along. Normally they are $29.99 but today I’ve got two and both for only $19.99. Hell for friends of the Muse, I have two for $9.99.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. mistermuse says:

    I would hesitate to say that any of my friends need help, Don (though I suspect that some do, if for no other reason than they like my blog). Nonetheless, knowing you, I can assure them that your offer would be a bargain at half the price, or even at one-quarter the price, or even at one quarter. 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. mistermuse says:

    Hmmm….now I’M wondering if I should preface my comments with a disclaimer, like those drug commercials with their pantheons of possible side effects that sound worse than the disease you take the drug for. Meanwhile, I recommend that you keep telling yourself it’s all in your head — that’s how I roll, and I soon discover there’s nothing to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mark Scheel says:

    Muse,

    I concur with Richard–I’ve accomplished many on the list, but not in the same year. Ha. One of them, however, was to stop drinking, but I enjoyed the music anyway. (I do now, for health reasons, have two fingers of wine with the evening meal now.) And, again, you’ve demonstrated you’re the pun-master.

    My last post on Grant was, yeah, political–I was goaded into it by the damn Star editorials. And they aren’t getting any better. But the adoration chapel is open once again at St. Agnes church where Dee and I go once a week to pray and meditate and send healing vibes to the sick and needy. Mainly, just to shut out the insane world for an hour and claim peace. May you find the same in 2017.

    You have a happy New Year.

    Mark

    Liked by 1 person

  10. mistermuse says:

    Glad you enjoyed the music, Mark — The Drinking Song is from a 1924 long-running Broadway show titled The Student Prince, which was made into a movie in 1954 (from which the clip in my post was taken). The song is sung by Mario Lanza.

    As for your last post on Grant, yes, it was political, which is why,as you know, I didn’t comment (as I’d previously said I wouldn’t). Nonetheless, I can understand why you were “goaded into it.”

    Peace and Happy New Year to you as well.

    Like

  11. BroadBlogs says:

    I like the fun ones: learn something new and travel to new places!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

