TWO BAD

Well, no one has blasphemed against the one-line poems in my last post, so by all that is holy, I should forget about my threat to up the ante with a post of two-line poems this time around. Ha ha — I’ll forget when Hell freezes over! Although no one commented to complain, I expect the thought crossed the minds of some….and even if it didn’t, the very suspicion demands consequences. Consequently, I am left with no choice but to proceed with the poems I intended to post anyway, and it serves you right!

My first two-line poem is unWitt(er)ingly brought to you by….

SPIES LIKE US*

We measure success
one imposter at a time.

*If this title sounds familiar, but you can’t quite ‘picture’ it….there’s always Google! Ha ha ha!

THIS IS A TITLE

Sometimes a poem
is entitled to be obvious.

ENVIRONMENTALLY CORRECT [previously published]

Poems don’t grow on trees….
however, some are recycled.

HEARING I’M PAIRED

Poetry is that
conversation we could not
otherwise have had.
–Cid Corman, Kyoto, Japan

Sorry I do
not speak haiku.

We interrupt this post for another commercial:

OBSESSION

buy Calvin Klein.
Sell futures.

GIVE ME THAT OLD-TIME RELIGION

Of course God knows everything —
He’s been around forever.

WHAT GOD TOLD ADAM AND EVE

You don’t want to know
(so, on with the show).

IS THIS GREAT POETRY, OR WHAT?

The power of suggestion
is that it begs the question.

Is this a great job, or what? But apparently not everyone shares my view:

OLD TESTAMENT RE-VIEW

Take this Job
and shove it.

FINNEGAN’S DYING WISH

Wake me when it’s over
(re Joyce).

We conclude with….

TWO MORE POEMS BY MISTERMUSE

One
short.

 

 

13 comments on “TWO BAD

  1. arekhill1 says:

    So you’re doing exactly what you wanted to do and it’s my fault, Sr. Muse? Don’t think you’re the first person who’s ever said that to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Two true to be good….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. eths says:

    I like these a lot, especially Cid Corman’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mistermuse says:

      Like-wise. In fact, I liked it so much that, as I recall, it instantly inspired the two-liner which follows it (sometimes a poem rings so true, it almost ‘demands’ a response — which we can’t always articulate in a way that does justice to the poem, but when it does….).

      Like

  4. Don Frankel says:

    Not sure which is my favorite Muse, Take this Job or Wake me when its over by Joyce. No wait there’s God know’s he’s been around forever. Classic Muse, classic.

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    Thanks, Don. Speaking of the latter, I’m getting so old that sometimes I feel like I’VE been around forever.

    Like

  6. RMW says:

    Always enjoyed Johnny Paycheck’s song… his number one hit… that was pretty much my mantra during all my many corporate jobs… thank goodness I don’t have to sing it anymore!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mistermuse says:

      I’m sure that song’s title expresses what many ‘wage slaves’ wish they could say to their employer….and then feel (to paraphrase Martin Luther King Jr.) free at last, free at last, thank God, I’m free at last!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Just stopping by to wish you a very happy upcoming natal anniversary celebration, mistermuse, rich with love and contentment. Oh..and cake! Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

