ALL’S FARE IN LOVE AND FOUR

With my mind drawing blanks and little time to spare
….as this post comes due, I hope you will bear
with four poems previously published, not saying where….
but near in spirit to my last post’s bill of fare:

LOVER BOY

Narcissus was too perfect for sex or pelf;
He longed only to gaze in love at himself….
The moral of which is that, even in myths,
Too much reflection may be your nemesis.

THE BOOK OF WISDOM

Thou shalt not commit adultery,
Nor shalt thou covet thy neighbor’s spouse.
Shouldst thou succumbeth to temptation,
Thou shalt not covet in thy neighbor’s house.

FAIR WARNING

And so, when wise men say to you
Love’s a game for dreamers and fools….
Buddy, beware
That a lady fair
Doesn’t play by the wise men’s rules.

TREASURE CHEST

\/    Madame’s cleavage so fair; yet
xx    he must pretend not to see;
~~   he knows well the song:
/\    Let it beLet it be.

She may say, if he peeks,
he’s just looking for thrills….
but innocence is a broad, and she
gets There’s ogle in them thar hills.

7 comments on “ALL’S FARE IN LOVE AND FOUR

  1. arekhill1 says:

    I’m not much of a composer of verse, but every once in a while I come up with a line that I think would sell on a T-shirt, and as far as ogling goes, I could see myself wearing a shirt with”If you want me to look at your face, wear a turtleneck” printed on it.

    Like

  2. Don Frankel says:

    This column wouldn’t be complete without this. I was surprised to find Stevie Wonder wrote it. Sounds like something from Kander and Ebb or Burt Bacharach.

    Like

  3. mistermuse says:

    Good song choice, Don, but Jennifer Hudson doesn’t enunciate the lyrics as distinctly as Barbra Streisand or Stevie Wonder himself. When I listen to their versions after hearing Hudson’s, there is a “clear” difference. In my opinion, if you can’t understand each word, even a good voice leaves you somewhat disappointed.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Don Frankel says:

    Muse, I always look for a clip without commercials that’s my first priority. I don’t want to put something up with a lead in to some bad movie or one of those annoying car insurance commercials.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. eths says:

    “War” made me think of our crazy language. “War” is not pronounced like “far” or “car” and is not spelled similarly to “wore” or “tore,” etc. How does anyone learn English as a second language?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mistermuse says:

    I could say that those who can remember war-like is OAR-like, won’t be in the same boat as those who don’t practice word association, but I agree that English has too many exceptions to the rule for it to be easy to learn as a second language. Nonetheless, my guess is that English is an easier second language to learn than many other languages. Just sayin’. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

