BEAR WITH ME, I’M TAKING A BREAK

After this post, I will be taking a break from posting until July 15, which (among other things) will hopefully let me catch up on some things I never seem to find time to get to. As it happens, however, the next date on which I would have been posting (July 10) is the birthday of two men of whom I would write on that date if I were to write on that date…. AND if I hadn’t already written of them on that date in previous years. But, since I won’t write on that date, the least I can do on this date is write about why I’m not writing on that date. As for what I might otherwise have written on this date, I can write that post on another date, but that date is not this date….or is it this date is not that date? Whatever.

Be that as it may, the two men whose names I won’t mention on this or that date are two GIANTS of popular music’s Golden Age, of whom I wrote on 7/10/15 & 7/10/14:

I’M IN THE MOOD FOR McHUGH

PARISH, THE THOUGHT

But enough of what this post on that date is not about — I now find (just in time to save the day) that July 10 is also TEDDY BEARS’ PICNIC DAY. As you may know, the Teddy Bear has an interesting history dating back to Teddy Roosevelt:

The Teddy bears’ picnic [illustrated]

As shown in the above clip, The Teddy Bears’ Picnic song was composed in 1907 as an instrumental, which it remained until Irish lyricist Jimmy Kennedy added words in 1932, when it was recorded (with vocal chorus) by a British orchestra. Subsequently, it became a popular children’s song:

There you have it, boys and girls….that wasn’t too unbearable, was it? And so, with apologies to July 5 for using this day to write about July 10, I look forward to returning on July 15 to again make much ado about nothing — or nothing about much ado. Whatever.

 

8 comments on “BEAR WITH ME, I’M TAKING A BREAK

  1. I remember singing Teddy Bears’ Picnic as a child…..but here’s one of the things I thought it said: “If you go down in the woods today, you’re in for a big surprise/ If you go down in the woods today you’d better go in the skies….” [instead of “in disguise”] I thought I should have to go in the Piper Cub that my Dad flew recreationally after his stint in the naval air corps….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carmen says:

    I hope you have a great break, mistermuse! And that your much to do gets done! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck with your ten day mission, Sr. Muse! Hopefully it is to the International Space Station. I’ve always wanted to go.

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    Gracias for your good wishes, Ricardo. I’m not planning on going to the International Space Station, but if I were, I would definitely send you a postcard (assuming I could afford the postage).

    Like

  5. Don Frankel says:

    Today in response to a comment from Richard the IVth, I said that something he said was more than I could bear. That’s before I read this. Anyway enjoy the hiatus.

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    Thanks, Don, I’ll still be checking in occasionally to try to keep up with other posts and comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

