MISTER-MUSE AND SUR-VEYS

We thought of ourselves as the lion….king of all he surveys. –Wordreference Forums

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

April 30 is NATIONAL HONESTY DAY, which I was considering making the subject of this post….but, to be honest, I already been there/done that (April 30, 2014) before most of you truth seekers had the misfortune to discover and become addicticated to my blog. But never you fear / be of good cheer / that post is as near / as if it were here:

IT’S NATIONAL HONESTY DAY — HONEST!

Back to the present, I ain’t lion: needing something else to write about posthaste, I got an idea from (click) this cartoon which appeared a few days ago in the local paper.

What with all the surveys and pseudo-surveys we’re bombarded with these days (even some news links on my Internet Explorer home page require answering a survey before proceeding), why shouldn’t I get in on the act with my own survey? Then I came across the following and, truth being stranger than fishin’, I’m thinkin’ perhaps I should be careful what I fish for:

10 Most Bizarre Survey Finds

So, Mister Muse will limit Sir Vey to one question: if what you don’t know can’t hurt you, why is clueless humanity so screwed up? If nothing else, those “Survey Finds” only confirm my faith in H. L. Mencken’s opinion of the American public (and, by extension,  the rest of the world).

So there you have it, human-family feuders. Survey says:

P.S. Honestly, I wonder if Noah ever answered God’s survey?

13 comments on “MISTER-MUSE AND SUR-VEYS

  1. I’m in the 40% that would save my dog over a tourist…. I’d save my dog over a citizen also 😲

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mistermuse says:

    Not to worry. Lucy Lou, the border collie mayor of Rabbit Hash, KY, of whom I’ve written before, is running indognito as a bite-in candidate for Pres. She may be laying low, but thinks you should vote for her because the other candidates are even bigger dogs than she is.

    Like

  3. Richard Cahill says:

    In the larger sense we’re all tourists here, Sr. Muse, and, also in the larger sense, (speaking of males at least) we’re all dogs. So I don’t think the question a fair one.

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    If I were a cynic, I’d ask Since when is life fair? Wait — I AM a cynic. Oh well, as Popeye would say, I yam what I yam.

    Like

  5. linnetmoss says:

    Mencken got it in one.

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    SIR VEY SAYS you’re right!

    Like

  7. Don Frankel says:

    The problem of those surveys is we have to believe the people giving them are honest. I think they’re the same people taking the polls.

    Like

  8. mistermuse says:

    I think some of the internet surveys are marketing feelers in the guise of surveys. But even “legitimate” surveys can be skewed toward whatever result is advocated, depending upon how the questions and/or choices are worded. No doubt the most honest (if not always accurate) polls are those undertaken or partnered by major news organizations and long established pollsters such as Gallup and the NBC News/Wall Street Journal polls.

    Like

  9. Oh my, I don’t know, when reading those survey results, if I should laugh or cry. Unbelievable. Ignorance is not bliss, it’s just ignorance. Very entertaining post, if not a bit depressing LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. mistermuse says:

    Thank you. I agree about ignorance, but I’d allow that not all ignorance is created equal. The worst is WILLFUL ignorance, which is the kind many politicians, tyrants and tycoons specialize in. More forgivable is uneducated ignorance, especially the uneducated ignorance of those who don’t know any better through no fault of their own (usually the easily-led young). But I’m sure you’re not ignorant of this, so please forgive my ‘preaching.’ 🙂

    Like

  11. I agree completely. There’s a huge difference. I count myself among the ignorant in more ways than not. There’s just too much to know. It’s the willful and purposely deceitful ignorance that is so unsettling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

