AND THEN YOU DIE….

The trouble with experience is that so few people are born with it.
–Evan Esar

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

THE LATE SHOW

Experience is the best teacher —
Of that, there is little doubt.
But many a thing learned by experience,
It’s too late to do anything about.

WIN SOME, LOSE SOME

Know this as you slog
Through life like a migrant:
Sometimes you’re the dog,
And sometimes the hydrant.

 

7 comments on “AND THEN YOU DIE….

  1. scifihammy says:

    hahaha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Frankel says:

    Every Dog has his day. Not sure who said that first. But as I like to say, say life is hard, then you die. But first we get a few laughs, a few base hits, score a few touch downs, date some beautiful women, listen to some great music and read mistermuse. Not so bad, even for a Dog.

    Like

  3. mistermuse says:

    You’re right, Don. Nowadays, even beautiful women can date beautiful women — if that’s not Equal Rights, I don’t know what is. Anyway, speaking of who said that first, I knew I’d heard “then you die” before, but I forgot who said it. Try not to grow old, Don, unless you don’t mind your memory becoming a hydrant that Father Time pees on at will.

    Like

  4. arekhill1 says:

    Speaking of dogs, I always thought the expression was “Life’s a bitch. Then you marry one. Then you wish you were dead.”

    Can the complexity of existence really be reduced to a simple zero-sum equation of dog vs. hydrant? True, sometimes you’re the dog, and sometimes you’re the hydrant. But sometimes you’re the car forgetfully parked in front of that hydrant, with a dog locked inside on a hot day…

    The path of philosophy is endless.

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    “I swear that hydrant wasn’t there when I parked my car, officer!” I recall a scene like that in one of the old classic comedies (possibly Laurel & Hardy)….and the funny thing was that the hydrant was in process of being replaced and wasn’t there when he parked.

    Just another example of the complexity of existence.

    Like

  6. BroadBlogs says:

    “The trouble with experience is that so few people are born with it.”

    Sometimes I get annoyed thinking about the times I’ve screwed up, but then I remember what this quote says so eloquently.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. mistermuse says:

    When I was searching for an appropriate quote to set up my two poems, I chose that one because it’s not only eloquent, but witty. I also considered the following runner-up, which, while eloquent, lacked the wit I was looking for:

    “Experience is not what happens to a man; it is what a man does with what happens to him.” -Aldous Huxley

    Like

Leave a Reply

