WELCOME TO PARADISE

Scurvy knave! Pray you, sir, a word: and as I told you, a young lady bade me inquire you out; what she bade me say, I will keep to myself: but first let me tell ye, if ye should lead her into a  fool’s paradise….
–William Shakespeare, ROMEO AND JULIET

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Pray you, my readers, a word: I question whether even one of ye is a fool (a scurvy knave might maintain that all of you are — or you wouldn’t be my readers), but, for any who perchance may qualify, this is your day….July 13 is Fool’s Paradise Day.

As if that’s not cause enough for celebration, tomorrow is Pandemonium Day and National Nude Day. Personally, I think ‘twould be more fitting if all three were observed on the same day, but apparently the holiday gods don’t see the symbiotic connection. More’s the pity, but ye can’t fight deity hall, so on this day, Paradise must hold sway.

And where, you ask, might a fool go to celebrate this day in Midsummer Night’s Dream fashion? No problem — the Bard of Stratford and I know of just the place:

http://afoolsparadise.ca/

As for those who want a handier destination, there are towns named Paradise all across the U.S.A., including California, Kansas, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah and Wyoming….all you need furnish is the fool. Sorry, I don’t do distant countries, but I’m sure love’s labor will not be lost if you seek heavenly accommodations assiduously enough.

And to insure All’s Well That Ends Well, I end with appropriate mood music:

4 comments on “WELCOME TO PARADISE

  1. arekhill1 says:

    National Nude Day and Pandemonium Day are the same? The calendar gods must be smiling.

    Like

  2. Don Frankel says:

    All did end well there Muse. And, I’m definitely a Knave and a fool and proud of it too. And why not? Because…

    “Lord, what fools these mortals be.”

    Might as well enjoy it.

    Like

  3. mistermuse says:

    All did indeed end well with Nat King Cole singing a romantic old ballad as only he could.
    As for being a knave and a fool, all I can say is if you are, the world could use a lot more. At least, it beats being a demagogue and a politician, which, come to think of it, often amounts to the same thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

