DO YOU KNOW THE WAY TO SANTA FE?

Do you know the way to where?

Well, if you were headed for the oldest capital city in the U.S., the capital of New Mexico, and one of the most historic and artistic cities in America, I expect you would know the way to Santa Fe. But suppose it’s 1968 and you were a lyricist named Hal David writing the words to a song composed by Burt Bacharach? And suppose you, Hal David, had been stationed (while in the Navy years before) at a fondly remembered, then-sleepy farming community called San Jose, located a few hundred miles north of that great big freeway called Los Angeles? And finally, suppose you prevailed upon good friend Dionne Warwick to record it, although she “didn’t think much of the song and didn’t want to sing it” — and it became her biggest international seller and won Warwick her first Grammy Award?

Most of this I learned after becoming curious about the song that played a part in my last post (WAYS OF CULTIVATING KNOWLEDGE). Of course, I knew of the team of Burt Bacharach and Hal David, who died 9/1/2012, shortly before this tribute appeared:

http://www.buzzfeed.com/summeranne/the-21-most-memorable-songs-written-by-hal-david

But what I didn’t recall was the sheer number of great songs written by Hal David, including DO YOU KNOW THE WAY TO SAN JOSE? and the twenty others included in the above list, which invites you to click on and replay any of those songs which may be among your fondly-remembered favorites.

One interesting note about Hal that is not mentioned in the introduction to the list is that he was the nine-years-younger brother of another great songwriter, Mack David (7/5/12 – 12/30/93), who wrote the lyrics to over one thousand songs, including those in the Disney films CINDERELLA and ALICE IN WONDERLAND, as well as the mostly-English lyrics to Edith Piaf’s signature song LA VIE EN ROSE. But more on him another time.

 

11 comments on “DO YOU KNOW THE WAY TO SANTA FE?

  1. DoesItEvenMatterWhoIAm? says:

    Amazing! I never knew all of that, so thanks for sharing. I have lived in San Jose, LA and Albuquerque (close to Santa Fe) and I really had no clue that there was such a story to that song.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. arekhill1 says:

    Another song I am well old enough to remember when it was a hit. Quit aging me, Sr. Muse.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mistermuse says:

    Ricardo, they say you’re only as old as you feel, so think of it as a song that makes you feel good.

    Like

  4. Don Frankel says:

    He wrote Broken Hearted Melody. I didn’t know that. Great song. I’m listening to Sarah Vaughan sing it it as I type.

    Good stuff Muse, good stuff.

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    I actually have Broken Hearted Melody on a Mercury LP titled THE MAGIC OF SARAH VAUGHN, but I didn’t know Hal David wrote it because the composers of the songs on the LP aren’t identified. This all-too-common practice was/is irritating because 1. Real music lovers want to know, and 2. Composers and writers should always receive credit for their work.

    Like

  6. Don Frankel says:

    That’s probably why I didn’t know it. What a voice she had, magical just magical.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. BroadBlogs says:

    Speaking of which, I’m from San Jose. And apparently few people know how to get there– Or even know where it is. When I say that I’m from San Jose I’ve gotten responses like, “I love New Mexico!”

    Like

  8. mistermuse says:

    I’ve been to San Jose many years ago, but the only thing I remember is the Winchester Mystery House, which some people may regard as a tourist trap, but I dig it. Why? It’s a mystery – ha ha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

