EXCUSE MY DUST

Time goes, you say? Ah no! Alas, time stays, we go. –Austin Dobson

Busy weekend. So much to do, so little time. What can I post that will take little time? Maybe if I wished upon a star for all the time in the world….but When You Wish Upon A Star, your dreams are but dust — unless you’re Pinocchio, and Walt Disney is pulling the strings. No, that song is a lie. Perhaps my chances would be better if….

Yes, that’s it. I’ll Wish On The Moon. I’ll wish for a dream or two. I’ll Wish On The Moon for Billie Holiday to be with us still, singing songs with lyrics by Dorothy Parker. Yes, Dorothy Parker wrote I WISHED ON THE MOON, and Billie Holiday was one of the first to sing it. But Billie was born exactly one hundred years and two months ago today, and Dorothy died today, June 7, in 1967….leaving this epitaph on her tombstone: EXCUSE MY DUST.

5 comments on “EXCUSE MY DUST

  1. I enjoyed this great story and the pictures behind it, thanks mister muse.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Frankel says:

    We’re all tying to make some sense out of this mess. We struggle with our words trying to grasp onto something and we fall down all over the place but Billie Holiday just glides. She is the best. And, she can sing too.

    Like

  3. mistermuse says:

    “Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.”
    “My consolation is in the stardust of a song.”

    That about sums up “this mess” for many of us. The first quote (Bette Davis) is a popular misquote – it actually ends with “bumpy night.” The second quote is of course from the lyrics of STARDUST by Hoagy Carmichael.

    Like

  4. arekhill1 says:

    Any excuse to mention the immortal Ms. Parker fine by me.

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    I thought about doing a whole posting on Dorothy Parker, but I’ve already been there and done that, so I settled for taking a Holiday along with Ms. Parker.

    Like

Leave a Reply

