ODE TO A TOAD

Me thinks me heard a splash
Hard by yon lily pad;
Me thinks me saw a toad or frog
(Or was it a crawdad?).

Who told that toad to shake a leg
Or seek a change of venue?
Never, ever, would I put toad
Or frog legs on my menu.

Verily, I am but
A harmless nature lover.
When I am nigh, or passing by, why
Must they always jump for cover?

What bound fools we mortals be
Who cling in spring to mother earth,
When we might swim or fly away
To live ‘nother day for what it’s worth.

So hear ye, fellow slow pokes
Such as tortoises and snails,
Let us sing a song to our friends
Long gone….so long, and Happy Trails.

 

 

7 comments on “ODE TO A TOAD

  1. Mél@nie says:

    nice and interesting poem… I like frogs, so toads, as well… 🙂
    * * *
    @”Verily, I am but
    A harmless nature lover.” – me, too, Sir… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mél@nie says:

      P.S. off-topic, with your permission, Sir: have you ever heard of the international jazz festival in Marciac, Gers, France that takes place every summer since 1978?…
      http://www.jazzinmarciac.com/
      * * *
      I was there last weekend and I took a few pix of this small town that I could send you – if you agree, of course… thanx in advance for your attention and reply! respectful regards, Mélanie NB

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mistermuse says:

    The only French jazz festival I’m familiar with is the one in Nice….probably because it dates back to the late 1940s, and I haven’t kept up with the proliferation of jazz festivals in recent decades – not that I don’t welcome any and all venues that keep classic jazz alive (I’m not really much into bebop and so-called progressive jazz).

    I would be delighted to view your pix, either “exclusively” or as part of one of your fine postings for all to see.

    Like

    • Mél@nie says:

      O.K. thanx! I never plan my blog-posts, that’s why my playground is kinda “melting pot”, so I’m gonna send you a few pix from Marciac @ your email address, visible in my dashboard, deal?… 🙂 good mornin’ here in “old Europe” and good night across the Atlantic ocean! c u asap… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jay says:

    Wow,youcould get an ode going to all the creatures of my backyard!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Don Frankel says:

    “Truth is riddit and riddit is truth.
    That is all ye know on earth and all ye need to know.”
    John Croaker

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    Sad to say, we’re all croakers in the end….which is both ridditulous and true.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

