SAY WHAT?

When I make use of old sayings or adages (such as the title of my last post, DOLLARS TO DOUGH-NUTS), I sometimes hesitate to do so because I’ve observed that (unlike my generation)  many people these days don’t know them….which, in turn, means that the reader probably “doesn’t get it” and my wordplay didn’t work. You might claim that’s because my generation was around when most of these old sayings originated, so naturally I’m familiar with them. Very funny.

DOLLARS TO DOUGHNUTS, for example, is a 19th century pseudo-betting phrase implying short odds (dollars are valuable but doughnuts aren’t), as in this sentence in a February 1876 Nevada newspaper: Whenever you hear any resident of a community attempting to decry the local paper…it’s dollars to doughnuts that such a person is either mad at the editor, or is owing the office for subscription or advertising.

Well, I’ve got news for you — I wasn’t around in 1876, but I still knew the phrase. How familiar are you with old sayings such as these (just to make it interesting, all but one of the following have a slightly altered word or two; if you can make the appropriate corrections, I’ll admit that you came up smelling like a tokus — I mean, like a rose):

1. A bird in the hand is worth two in the blue.
2. It ain’t over, still the fat lady sings.
3. It’s all over but the shooting.
4. The best laid plans of mice and men oft go oy vey.
5. A stitch in time saves a dime.

6. A picture is worth a thousand turds.
7. All good things come to those who can’t wait.
8. All is fair in love and divorce.
9. Behind every Dodge Stratus there’s a Silverado.
10. Better late than whatever.

11. He who hesitates is last.
12. Neither rhyme nor treason.
13. Blood is thicker than liquor.
14. Don’t change houses in the middle of the storm.
15. No rest for the wicked.

And now, if you’ll pardon me, it’s time for my nap.

 

 

 

 

13 comments on “SAY WHAT?

  1. DoesItEvenMatterWhoIAm? says:

    Nice lol! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mistermuse says:

    I guess you’ll just have to settle for a cigar! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • DoesItEvenMatterWhoIAm? says:

      Damned if I don’t have two of them growing mold in my humidor… I hate living in an apartment that makes me hike out to the street to smoke. I don’t want to sit on the curb to enjoy a good cigar…

      Like

  3. mistermuse says:

    Ever ready to come to the aid of a damsel in distress, my suggestion is to buy cheap cigars so that when they grow moldy and unsmokable, you’ve saved money.

    Like

  4. BroadBlogs says:

    I have heard the phrase before. But I’d never known what it meant. Interesting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mistermuse says:

    Thanks. Perhaps I should take this occasion to report the correct words to replace the alterations I made in the first 14 sayings (just in case anyone’s curious about any they didn’t know):

    1. bush (instead of blue) 2. till (instead of , still) 3. shouting (instead of shooting) 4. awry (instead of oi vey) 5. nine (instead of a dime)

    6. words (instead of turds) 7. wait (instead of can’t wait) 8. war (instead of divorce) 9. cloud (instead of Dodge Stratus); silver lining (instead of Silverado) 10. never (instead of whatever)

    11. lost (instead of last) 12. reason (instead of treason) 13. water (instead of liquor) 14. horses (instead of houses); stream (instead of storm)

    Like

  6. Don Frankel says:

    The Opera may not be over until the Fat Lady sings and the best laid schemes of mice and men Gang aft agley but nice guys finish, somewhere.

    Like

  7. mistermuse says:

    “Nobody goes there anymore. lt’s too crowded.” –Yogi Berra

    Like

  8. Don Frankel says:

    “Some guys don’t like to swing on a 3 – 0 pitch because they swing.” Yogi Berra. Unlike a lot of Yogisms that he may or may not have actually said, I heard him say that one.

    Like

  9. mistermuse says:

    That reminds me of this Yogism: “I never said most of the things I said.” You gotta love it!

    Like

  10. arekhill1 says:

    With the price of a decent doughnut well over a buck nowadays, it’s no wonder no one uses that old saw anymore.

    Like

  11. mistermuse says:

    There’s not a hole lot I can say about that….and probably it’s just as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

