HERE’S LOOKING AT YOU, KID

All I ever wanted was for someone to know what’s inside me. -Dane Clark to Ida Lupino, death scene, DEEP VALLEY, 1947

Surrounded by color,
now we look back
at memories of ourselves
and see that no
one knew us as did
our celluloid stand-ins.
Not our parents.
Not our siblings.
Not our friends.
Not even ourselves.

The stuff dreams
were made of?
It was all
up there
in black
and white.
But
it
all
wentbysofast.

 

6 comments on “HERE’S LOOKING AT YOU, KID

  1. arekhill1 says:

    Yeah I been wondering…this whole you get old and die thing–who signed off on that anyway?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. scifihammy says:

    I think there you have it – ‘Not even ourselves’.
    I really like this poem; Nicely written. 🙂

    Like

  3. mistermuse says:

    I appreciate that. BTW, the movie I referenced (DEEP VALLEY) was in black and white. It’s a little-known, but very good, film.

    Like

  4. Don Frankel says:

    “and our little life
    Is rounded by a sleep.”

    I got that one on my wall. Nice one Muse.

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    And a good one to have on your wall (hanging Shake-ily o’er your bed), it is!

    Like

Leave a Reply

