HERE A QUOTE, THERE A QUOTE

Now and again, when I come across a quotation I particularly like, I bookmark it or write it down to save for possible use in a future post. Over time, I’ve accumulated a considerable cache of said quotes, which has me feeling somewhat like the poor soul beneath this 1837 tombstone in Thermon, Maryland:

Here lies an atheist. All dressed up and no place to go.

So here I am with a quoter’s worth of quotes which I have yet to use, and probably never will, as things stand. To coin a phrase, my quotations situation has come to a dead end. They’ve no place to go. I’ve reached the now-or-never point — use ’em or lose ’em. Thus, the reason for this post: it’s full speed ahead, and let the quotes (the first of which defines an atheist in a way I’d not heard of) fall where they may:

The atheist does not say ‘there is no God,’ but says ‘I know not what you mean by God; I am without idea of God’; the word ‘God’ is to me a sound conveying no clear or distinct affirmation. The Bible God I deny; the Christian God I disbelieve in; but I am not rash enough to say there is no God as long as you tell me you are unprepared to define God for me. -Charles Bradlaugh

He who is not aware of his ignorance will only be misled by his knowledge. -Richard Whatley

Moral systems are devised not to make life difficult, not to forbid pleasure, but to protect human beings from other human beings. -Andrew Greeley

Allright, forget it. We’ll play in your ballpark. -Spencer Tracy (Clarence Darrow) to Fredric March (Wm. Jennings Bryan) when the Bible (but not Darwin’s ORIGIN OF SPECIES) is admitted as evidence in the film based on the 1925 Scopes Monkey Trial, INHERIT THE WIND.

It seems to me that organized creeds are collections of words around a wish. -Zora Hurston

Any physical cause [of the universe] is by definition part of the universe to be explained. Thus any purely scientific explanation of [it’s] existence is doomed to be circular. Even if it starts from something very minimal – a cosmic egg, a tiny bit of quantum vacuum, a singularity – it still starts with something, not nothing. -Jim Holt

“GOD” is most accurately defined as the personification of ignorance, representing everything we do not yet understand. -Kenneth Marsalek

On the sixth day, God created man. On the seventh day, man returned the favor. -Unknown

I don’t believe in an afterlife, although I am bringing a change of underwear. -Woody Allen

Well, humor is the great thing, the saving thing, after all. -Mark Twain

 

 

6 comments on “HERE A QUOTE, THERE A QUOTE

  1. arekhill1 says:

    The only difference between the God your parents told you about and Santa Claus is that your parents eventually told you there is no such thing as Santa Claus.

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    There is no such thing as Santa Claus? What a bummer, to find out after all these years!

    Judging by that first quote (by Charles Bradlaugh), there is also no such thing as an atheist who says there is no God. But, based on every other atheist I’ve ever come across, I’ve got a feeling that Bradlaugh speaks only for himself. Nonetheless, he sounds like my kind of atheist….an agnostic!

    Like

  3. Don Frankel says:

    “You can observe a lot by just watching.” Yogi.

    Maybe if we observe enough we’ll get it but then maybe we can’t.

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    Yogi couldn’t have said it better, Don.

    Like

  5. Mélanie says:

    Mark Twain and Woody Allen… 2 great philosophers, as well… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mistermuse says:

    Hmmm. Now I’m thinking I should have included a quote from mistermuse. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

