MIRROR’S LOOKING AT YOU, KID

The beauty industry is the beast. -Katherine Dodds

Painted ladies
preparing to face
a waiting world
look long to
make up for
possible shortcomings
while their daughters
practice
practice
practice

4 comments on “MIRROR’S LOOKING AT YOU, KID

  1. retrostank says:

    The title is the coolest, Outkast used it in Idlewild for the first line of “Makes No Sense At All.”

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Thanks for the info, which I wasn’t aware of (hip hop/rap isn’t my thing). I don’t know when Outkast used it, but I wrote this poem in 2002, and it was published in 2003 in a poetry mag called ABBEY.

    Like

  3. arekhill1 says:

    Makes just looking in the mirror to shave a piece of cake. Guys have it easy, which is good–we couldn’t handle it any other way.

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    You got that right, Ricardo. I even hate to shave every day….and since I’ve been retired, I don’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

