EYE GIVE UP

The irony of life is that by the time you retire and can
sleep late, you’re too old to be able to.
-Evan Esar

Of all the mysteries
Of the universe deep,
Why do I stay awake
When all I want is sleep?

If it’s all in my head,
Pray tell, for retirement’s sake,
Why do I fall asleep
When I want to stay awake?

10 comments on “EYE GIVE UP

  1. arekhill1 says:

    If you are not comfortable with Ambien, Sr Muse, I recommend counting idiots when you are trying to drift off. They are innumerable, and generally smell better than sheep.

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Ricardo, usually when I drift off, I’m watching TV, which has more idiots on it than I can count. But now that you mention it, I should probably put a TV in the bedroom & turn it on when I go to bed. With my luck, however, there would be a good movie on that would keep me awake for two more hours.

    Like

  3. Mistermuse, I have tried a few of those “sleep aids.” They do not work for me long term. I am retired also and since I no longer have to keep a schedule, I find it easier to just sleep when I am tired, even during the day. I put my feet up on my recliner, grab a small blanket and drift away for 2 to 3 hours. I also use my bed if I am very tired,
    Yes, I do keep the TV on in both rooms. The background noise filters out the noise in my head. I also can get engrossed in a movie but that tends to keep me awake. So, I switch to a hum drum station or something I have seen that is not too boring. I don’t believe in using the medical and negative term ‘insomnia.’ Better to think of the fact that as our bodies mature, our sleep patterns change. Have a nice nap or two and feel refreshed, Mr. Muse. 😉

    Like

  4. Don Frankel says:

    I have those problems too many things on the brain and bad dreams. But i’ve realized that I’m retired what’s the difference if I get up at 4AM or fall asleep at 8?

    Like

  5. Regarding bad dreams, I find if I am happy and at peace, I will have good dreams. When I have a nervous or worried, I will have an anxiety dream. This is normal since you know that dreaming is a mind’s defense against breaking down. Emotions have to be released as you may well know, Otherwise, we could become one of those blithering idiots that arekhill mentioned in his comment.

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    I used to be concerned about not consistently getting a good night’s sleep, but I finally decided to hell with it and let nature take its course – when my body needs sleep, I’ll fall asleep. and when it doesn’t, I won’t. Since them, I’ve been sleeping even more than I want to – like in the middle of JEOPARDY! and not waking up until it’s over and I miss who won. I hate when that happens!

    Like

    • My solution to this problem is to brew four good cups of medium strength coffee about 7:00 PM or sooner if I start to feel sleepy. I drink 1 to 2 cups . then I let the rest cool, pour it into a 2 cup Pyrex measuring cup. The next day my husband, who likes cold coffee. drinks the rest at his lunch time. This way I don’t get tired too soon and can watch Jeopardy all the way to the end. I used to fall asleep at all the endings of shows and movies on the TV. Now I can stay awake. If one can drink and enjoy coffee, it can be a good source of anti inflammatory medicine for some people. I have eliminated those drugs that had the same effect, mistermuse. 🙂

      Like

  7. mistermuse says:

    Sounds like a good tip, Michaeline. Thanks!

    Like

  8. Sam373 says:

    In a world as screwedup as ours; the question comes from deep inside of us;have you given up the fight? Then you picked up your pen and wrote:
    “NO, just the struggle”.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. mistermuse says:

    A very thoughtful comment, though I prefer to think of it more like a journey than a “fight,” as my search is for reality, not combat. Granted, however, that one must “fight” one’s way through a lot of crap along the way in order to separate the wheat from the chaff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

