ANCESTRY.COME

It is good, now and then, to take a refresher course in where we come from, even though our common human roots have been well chronicled in such documentary films as

You may say that’s ancient history, but, as such famous ill-fated philosophers as Jimmy Hoffa have said, “You can’t know where you’re going until you know where you’ve been.” Awareness of past missteps (both personal and ancestry-wise) may help you avoid future pitfalls; pretending you’re a self-made man or woman is like living in a house without a foundation.  With that in mind, here’s a little quiz to test your knowledge of your prehistoric forebears. Five of the following actually existed and five are fakers:

1.  Neanderthal man
2.  Heidelberg man
3.  Cuppa Java man
4.  Swanscombe man
5.  Peking dude
6.  Gloria Steinheim man
7.  Rhodesian man
8.  Solo mon
9.  Cro-Magnon man
10. Piltdown man

Did you find the five pretenders? Ladies, I hope you don’t take this lightly, because if you’re in search of your dream Neanderthal, it’s important that you be able to tell the difference:

OK, I will test your patience no longer — the imposters are #3, 5, 6, 8 and 10. Some, like Solo mon masquerading as Solo man, are close but no cigaret. Piltdown man was a hoax.

My name is mistermuse, and though I am ancient, I am not a hoax. Really.

7 comments on “ANCESTRY.COME

  1. Don Frankel says:

    Great clips. They left the piss boy out of the French Revolution scene but it’s still good to be the King. Well up to a point.

    Muse I had my DNA mapping done. It is very interesting as people think or are told this that and the other thing about their ancestry and it might not be necessarily so. Long story short 2% of my DNA is Neanderthal. So if you ever call me a Neanderthal I’ll just have to say, yes.

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Don, you’re right – how could they have left PISS BOY out of a “best scenes” compilation? Therefore, I will take matters into my own hands:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGfXiIXTpE0

    Like

  3. arekhill1 says:

    Where are Adam, Eve and Fred Flintstone?

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    Ricardo, I think I “covered” Adam & Eve enough in my previous post. As for Fred Flintstone, I’ve never understood the popularity of The Flintones. As far as I’m concerned, he’s no rock star, and about as engrossing as yabba dabba doo-doo.

    Like

  5. Mélanie says:

    n° 5+6… LOL of the total LOL… 😀 merci-thanx, you’ve made my mornin’… 🙂 wish u tons of inspiration and good-nite(sic!) in the US… 🙂

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    Mel Brooks said it’s good to be the King (though I noticed he didn’t say the same about the Piss Boy), and I say it’s good to have readers like you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

