COMFORT IN NUMBERS

Everyone will be famous for fifteen minutes. –Andy Warhol

Right.

Or remembered in a mass.

Or en masse (for non-Catholics).

Or whatever.

You’re covered.

Right.

16 comments on “COMFORT IN NUMBERS

  1. Don Frankel says:

    He said everyone would be famous but he never said for what. See the Kardashians and the Snooki crew out in New Jersey. I’d rather be remembered in a Mass.

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    I want to be remembered for looking at the world through pose-colored glasses. Why there’s so much posing going on, I really don’t know.

    Like

    • I have had my 15 minutes of fame when invited by the band leader to sing, “I Love the Night Life” on the stage at the Flamingo Hilton Hotel in Las Vegas. I don’t care if I am remembered or not. Although it would be fitting if my tombstone read I TOLD YOU I WAS SICK!

      Like

  3. mistermuse says:

    Congrats on your 15 minutes of fame, Michaeline, but what’s the rest of the story? Since it was in Las Vegas, did you win the invitation to sing by chance? Or did you hubby bribe the band leader (ha ha)?
    I seem to recall that epitaph from one of my old posts, so I checked and found that it’s on the headstone of one John Penny in England. So there’s a Penny for your thoughts, and I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t mind if you use his last words on your tombstone. But please don’t be in a hurry, as I don’t want to lose one of my most faithful readers. 🙂

    Like

  4. Mélanie says:

    Andy Warhol was sooo right – even though his statement is kinda ironico-sarcastic… I used his quote @ my “about”: 🙂
    https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/
    * * *
    I’m not a catholic, so it’s fine with me… 😉

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      Many thanks for the link, Melanie – your writing so impresses me that I think you deserve no less than 16 minutes of fame! 🙂 In fact, one of these years, I intend to take time to go back and read every one of your posts (hopefully, science will soon create 48-hour days to enable me to do everything I want to do). 😦

      Like

  5. Joseph Nebus says:

    I’d thought about trying to be remembered as one of the forgotten few, but I realized what a meager ambition that was.

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    Maybe meager, but noble. My expectations are such that my name might as well be mistermute. 😦

    Like

  7. arekhill1 says:

    If you can’t afford a publicist, shoot somebody famous, if you can afford the bullets.

    Like

  8. mistermuse says:

    Jack Ruby showed, when he shot Lee Harvey Oswald, that it works just as well when you shoot the shooter. Off hand, I can’t think of a similar case since then, so we must be taking better care of our assassins now.

    Like

  9. Here is the rest of the story, mistermuse. I was single when I flew to Las Vegas with my friend, Lucy. She had a cold and went to bed early that night. I gambled away the $25.00 worth of quarters on the slots in the lounge of the Flamigo Hilton where we were staying. Then I was bored so I talked with the band leader who actually was famous in a strange way. He played the villian in many 60’s and 70’s TV sitcoms. One was a role in a episode of “Vegas.” He also played the trumpet and was married to one of the show girls. After we got to talking, he realized I was a back up singer for an oldies but goodies band in Michigan. So he invited me to sing at the 2:00 AM show when the manager would not know I would be there. It was fun and the few people present seemed to enjoy my singing.
    I liked the comment about “taking better care of our assassins.” That was very funny!

    Like

  10. mistermuse says:

    I enjoyed the rest of your story, Michaeline. Interestingly enough, there is another lady singer who follows my posts (and vice versa). She goes by the name “ladysighs” and sings on many of her posts. If you’d like to give her a listen, go to the “Likes” (immediately following my post) and click on the Like button with the purple butterfly.

    Like

    • I tried to click on Like and then I got the Word Press thing. I don’t think I have an account with this blog. I guess I will have to ask my husband for some help here. Confidentially, I “hate” passwords and would rather have nothing to do with them. I can not recall what password goes where. Tried to keep a notebook with my email contacts, passwords and some Polish words so I can look them up. I am a failure in the pass word department, I guess. I just don’t have the time or the energy to deal with them. I do remember the main one and that is it. Sorry!

      Like

  11. mistermuse says:

    Sorry you had trouble, Michaeline. If i were more computer savvy. I could probably suggest what to do, but unfortunately when I run into a problem, I usually have to ask for help myself. 😦

    Like

    • That just shows that we are only human, mistermuse. Who would want to be a computer robot, anyway? Ha! Like I said before, I will ask my husband to help me. He has worked with computers at home and at his job for years. I like that you called me “one of your faithful readers.” It is my pleasure to be one thank you!

      Like

  12. mistermuse says:

    The pleasure is all – make that “half” – mine, Michaeline.

    Like

Leave a Reply

