THE NO-RETURN OF THE SCREW

Consider the screw;
Consider it, do.
Consider, then re-
Consider anew.

Unscrupulous screw,
Unscrew for me, do.
Do not screw with me
For screwing with you.

In the face I am blue
Trying you to unscrew,
Still you refuse to undo,
As if set in glue.

So I say to you,
This day you will rue
Unless you choose to do
As you’re slotted to do.

10 comments on “THE NO-RETURN OF THE SCREW

  1. Don Frankel says:

    Revenge on inanimate objects. I love it. Unfortunately at some point we all get….

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Usually when we take revenge on inanimate objects, we just screw ourselves – but, at least for the moment, it feels so GOOOOD.

    Like

  3. Woo Hoo! I feel like I was dropped into a vat of gooey stew. Nice mistermuse but not one of your best. You must have wrote this long ago.

    I can get an unscrewable screw out by putting a small piece of double sided thick tape between the screw driver and the aforementioned stubborn screw.

    Who knew? I do!

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      Michaeline, you’re half right – I wrote the first half long ago, and the second half for this post.

      As for the “not one of your [my] best,” perhaps you’re referring to the line “Trying you to unscrew,” which may sound more awkward than “Trying to unscrew you,” but is more in rhythm with the previous line. I tried it both ways, and decided to go with the (rhythm) flow.

      Like

  4. Joseph Nebus says:

    Fun poem. I like that sort of thing.

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    Thanks. I aim to please – or, as Neville Chamberlain might have put it, I aim to appease.

    Like

  6. Now that I have read your poem again, I think it is a master…er…Museterpiece of rhythm and rhyme. First impressions don’t count in my comments. Very good job, Muse.

    Like

  7. mistermuse says:

    They say it never hurts to get a second opinion. I certainly approve of yours, Michaeline.

    Like

Leave a Reply

