TITLE POWER (THE UN-TOLD STORY)

IS THIS A GREAT POEM, OR WHAT?

The power of suggestion
is that it begs the question.

UNTITLED

This poem’s title is Untitled —
Not because it is untitled,
But because I am entitled
To entitle it Untitled.

If I’d not titled it Untitled,
It would truly be untitled,
Which would make me unentitled
To entitle it Untitled.

So it is vital, if untitled,
Not to title it Untitled,
And to leave the title idled,
As a title is entitled.

 

10 comments on “TITLE POWER (THE UN-TOLD STORY)

  1. ladysighs says:

    Are you finished with your recital about the title?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Frankel says:

    I know you wrote this Muse but it begs to be by Anonymous.

    Like

  3. mistermuse says:

    Actually it’s by Anomalous.

    Like

  4. arekhill1 says:

    I think you’ve demonstrated you’re entitled to your sense of entitlement.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mistermuse says:

    I guess that makes it Unanimous.

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    In that case, I love you (what my wife doesn’t know won’t hurt her).

    Like

  7. Joseph Nebus says:

    Once back in college I impishly gave our arts-and-poetry newspaper edition a poem titled, “How life appears to a person sitting in his dorm room watching people come in and go out all night”, with the body of the poem being, just, “Transitional.”

    The editor misunderstood at first and that all that was the poem and laid it out as “Untitled” but I caught that and explained my prank. Happily, he loved it way more that way.

    Like

  8. mistermuse says:

    Some might say that’s life – either a dorm room or a prank. I don’t know – I just work here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

