AUSTEN POWER

Pride and Prejudice
Is the edifice.

Sense and Sensibility
Braves instability.

Mansfield Park and Emma are
More than ephemera.

Northanger Abbey and Persuasion
Complete the equation.

I hear ‘twould be hard to exceed them.
I fear that some day I must read them.

7 comments on “AUSTEN POWER

  1. Now you’ve done it, mistermuse. An excellent poem with the word ‘ephemera.’ I have to look that up in my dictionary. Otherwise I did enjoy AUSTEN POWER .

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Not to worry, Michaeline. If I have anything to say about it, your confessing to having to look up “ephemera” in the dictionary will remain between us.

    Like

  3. arekhill1 says:

    My door is open to you, Sr. Muse, any time you want to talk about other phobias we may have in common.

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    I appreciate that, Ricardo. It’s comforting to know I won’t have to resort to this:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhlBc9LJuws

    Like

  5. Don Frankel says:

    I started to read this and I remember I had to read the one with Heathcliff in it, Wuthering Heights and I hated it. So I’m thinking I never read any more of this sh*t. What kind of a writer am I? But then that’s what the poem was about. God Bless You Muse.

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    Don, I always figured these are the types of novels that Hollywood (especially during Hollywood’s “Golden Age”) could do a better job of making interesting than the novels themselves, so I never read Wuthering Heights, but I did enjoy the 1939 movie starring Laurence Olivier as Heathcliff. As for Jane Austen’s novels, Pride and Prejudice was filmed in 1940 (also starring Olivier), and more recently, Sense and Sensibility in 1995. I haven’t seen them, but I would sooner do so than read them.

    What that says about us as writers is probably just a matter of sensibility, if that makes sense.

    Like

  7. Don Frankel says:

    And, we’re not prejudiced.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

