GETTING IT LEFT AND RIGHT

January 13 is INTERNATIONAL SKEPTICS DAY, but I don’t know what there is to be skeptical about nowadays — particularly when it comes to politics and ideology. Left and right wingers may still have their differences, but even a cursory romp through the blogosphere shows that goodwill and harmony almost always prevail, and trying to understand the other guy is making it possible to get past divisiveness for the good of all. Yes, friends, as these examples demonstrate, Rodney King would be proud at last — we CAN all get along. See how we empathize:

“You don’t get it.”
You don’t get it.”

“Get over it.”
You get over it.”

“Forget it.”
You forget it.”

“Get with the program.”
You get with the program.”

“Get out of my face.”
You get out of MY face.”

“If you can’t take the heat, get out of the kitchen.”
“If you can’t take the heat, get out of the kitchen.”

“Get the facts before you run off at the mouth.”
“Get the facts before you run off at the mouth.”

“Get a load of that mistermuse — he’s too much!”
“You got that right.”

 

 

 

11 comments on “GETTING IT LEFT AND RIGHT

  1. Marie Lough says:

    I think I’m skeptical about that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mistermuse says:

    I knew it was too good to last!

    Like

  3. Don Frankel says:

    “Really! Really!”

    I don’t know if you watch any of these shows like Maury or Bill Cunningham but when confronted with the results of the LDT Lie Detector Test that the husband/boyfriend/baby’s daddy, did have sex with the wife’s BFF or her sister or her Mother, the wife/girlfriend/baby’s momma, invariably gives the above response and this too is also a moment of clarity.

    Yeah all these new technologies and modes of communications are just grand. Welcome to the 21st Century.

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    I can’t stand such shows, Don, but occasionally when switching channels (like many men) during commercials, I come across one of them, and just a few seconds of watching it is almost enough to ruin my day. Enough said!

    Like

  5. FYI, mistermuse, I happen to catch the House of Representatives session this afternoon. The vast majority of Republicans voted to kill the Immigration Bill that the Democratic President wantedto become Law in order to keep immigrants in the USA. Now it seems the children of immigrants will be deported back to their parents’ native countries. That is the gist of it all unless the Senate manages to get the Bill and pass it. Which seems unlikely. President Obama said he would sign the Bill into law if it gets to his desk.
    I get the message that you have written in your great little poem. I thought Rodney King had the right attitude and you have reinforced it. I imagine King is twisting and turning in his coffin by now. Indeed, the good do die young. So, be a little naughty sometimes, okay, mistermuse?

    Like

    • P.S. You were correct in saying awhile ago that if you couldn’t sleep, you would turn on the television and watch C-Span. I was watching that channel and had a nice nap.

      Like

    • mistermuse says:

      My favorite “get” in the above poem is the first one. I wish I had a year off my age for every time a right winger told his opposite wing “You don’t get it” (and vice versa, though a left winger doesn’t say it as often because he knows the right winger wouldn’t get it).
      On second thought, I don’t wish a year off my age for every “You don’t get it,” because I wouldn’t be born yet and probably never would be.

      Like

      • I agree that is not a great wish to make. We would have missed your punny poems and pithy remarks, mistermuse. Although the chance to be reborn does sound tempting. If infants could speak of what they learned in their previous lives, the left wingers may be astounded. However, the right wingers could be terrified and have the babes deported.

        Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    I think you got it, Michaeline.

    Like

  7. arekhill1 says:

    I’m over getting it, or else I’m getting over it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

