BABY, IT’S COLD OUTSIDE!

I don’t know what the weather’s like where you are, but where I am, there was snow yesterday, today’s wind chill is below zero, and tomorrow morning’s predicted low temperature is minus-five degrees….but do I mind?

SNOW JOB

Take this job
and shovel it!

NORTHERN EXPOSURE

Around here, when you say
“Have a nice day” —
You won’t seem a fool….
Believe me, it’s cool.

16 comments on “BABY, IT’S COLD OUTSIDE!

  1. arekhill1 says:

    Spring is here in San Diego. We suffered through a chilly week where the daytime temperatures barely rose above 60, but we’ve left that burst of Arctic air behind us, and today will be in the mid 70’s. Yeah, we just watch the Weather Channel to gloat. Have a nice day.

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      I knew when I was writing this post, that I was setting myself up for some sub-topical – er, sub-TROPICAL — gloating, but that’s OK. Come spring, I’ll be enjoying mid-70s temps, and….so, still, will you. WAH! Life ain’t fair!

      Like

  2. scifihammy says:

    Sorry, it’s 30C here today, but it is mid-summer! Spring can’t be too far away? Someone has just posted the first snowdrops ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      That’s 86 degrees Fahrenheit, for those who have to look up the conversion of C into F (like me). I hope your power grid has been holding up down there in Cape Town, scifihammy. As I recall, you were having problems.

      Liked by 1 person

      • scifihammy says:

        haha Funny you should mention that! We have been promised lots more power cuts this month, while they get the new power station up and running. Can’t wait! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

  3. I noticed that the Artic air has hit the Ohio Valley according to the Weather Channel with snow for your area, mistermuse. Then the Clipper will stop that and again the high winds and below freezing temperatures. Be glad you don’t live in the mitten of lower Michigan. My family near Lake Michigan will experience the lake effect snow bombarment with even lower temps. Detroit will have the usual icy, snowy weather. It will be like living in a freezer. Yet they will go to work and school like we always did while living there. Hang in there, Muse by your gloved fingertips.

    Like

  4. ladysighs says:

    I’m at my computer
    At my posting post
    Sitting on a heat pad
    Feeling just like toast ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    I’m also sitting on a heat pad – my rear end – but unfortunately, there’s too much pad and not enough heat. I thought about getting an electric chair, but I got cold feet.

    Like

  6. Don Frankel says:

    I’m sitting on my back massage machine that comes complete with a heating pad. I’m staying inside as it’s 7 degrees out there and I don’t care what’s implied, it’s better than getting “pneumonia and died”.

    Stay warm Muse.

    Like

  7. mistermuse says:

    You do the same, Don….and, if you’re trying to recall where you may have heard the title of this post:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTNheCEUP_A

    Like

    • I checked the youtube connection and was delighted to hear Margaret Whiting sing the song, Baby It’s Cold Outside. Then I listened to Lady Gaga and Joseph Gordon Levitt sing the song as a duet from her Christmas show on television several years ago. Thank you, mistermuse, for this musical journey down memory lane. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. mistermuse says:

    You’re welcome. Among the versions I’ve heard, I’m partial to the Margaret Whiting/Johnny Mercer duo (especially the Mercer half), but I haven’t heard the Gaga/Levitt duet. I’ll have to give it a listen when I have time.

    Like

    • I like Lady Gaga. She may have worn outlandish outfits when she attended award shows in the past. But this was to attract attention. The duet is nice but she and Levitt were also acting out the lyrical part and doing a bit of a dance. So her vocalization is a bit too low at times. She reminds me of onewho is a mezzo alto. However, other parts of her old Christmas show were delightful.When she sang aduet with Tony Bennett, her voice was so pure and sweet Her renditions of clasic songs almost made me cry.

      Like

  9. mistermuse says:

    Listened to (& watched) the Gaga/Levitt clip – pretty good, especially for contemporary singers doing an old song. I must admit she’s a talented vocalist.

    Like

    • mistermuse, when you have a few moments, I suggest you listen to the videos from her Christmas show. I did see that they were on the “Utube” list. She sang one of her finest vocal renditions on that show. Lady Gaga can compose and sing her own music. Of course, some of the contemporary music appeals to a younger audience with its hip hop beat. I don’t like most rap songs but the hip hop ones are good when I exercise.

      Gaga was close to her grandfather who played in an orchestra most of his life. He encouraged her to use her talent. She seems to enjoy singing his classic and jazzy blue songs. The duet with Tony Bennett is so enjoyable as she can blend in with her range of harmonious tones.

      Obviously I am a fan of Lady Gaga. A Detroit girl who grew up with a long, lovely name. She listened to various kinds of music that I enjoyed, too. The Motown sound; the jazzy blues and soul music; the rock and roll these genres developed into and the beautiful renderings of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra.

      Like

Leave a Reply

