OUTLET MULL

To quote from  a comment to my last post: “it’s an outlet. Use it.” If “it” was a reference to this blog as an outlet for the likes of my disenchantment with SWI’s editor, that’s how I did use it. But after mulling over that well-intended comment, I see where my lead-in to the previous post’s poems was seen by some as more than an outlet for artfully re-publishing deleted SWI poems; rather, it was seen as a failure to forgive, and time to get over it.

From my point of view, that disenchantment isn’t vindictiveness against the SWI editor. I don’t wish him ill. As I’ve said before, I forgive, but I can’t forget how this went down. I value relationships, whether personal or professional. If I overvalued that one, took it for Grant-ed and thought I deserved answers and the regard such relationships imply, that’s on me (as is the pun).

However, I agree that enough is enough. I enjoy writing “lead-ins” to introduce poems, quotes and other material I post, but from now on, “sour grapes” lead-ins are out. I won’t be free to mention editor Bob Grant. You’ll have to bribe me to say if poems I post here were previously published in SWI. Happy New Year.

TRYING TIMES

Forgive me, please, my verse you’ve read —
Much better works are in my head….
But they’ll remain there
Until the brain there
Learns how to extract gold from lead.

 

 

 

11 comments on “OUTLET MULL

  1. mistermuse, I was glad to hear that you will now be exciting us, your fellow poets in rhyme, with different lead ins. i can understand how you must feel since a great injustice was done to you and us since we valued your poems. However, be consoled by the fact that I and many other “compatriots” do not like that woman’s (you know whom I mean) posts. I pesonally believe and I have told her that her postings are boring and repetitive. I use to read her posts long ago but refuse to read them now. Be stout of heart, my mery gentleman and be of good cheer. We are behind you and we support your efforts.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mistermuse says:

    I appreciate that, Michaeline, but I don’t intend to write lead-ins at all to future poetry postings (though I’m not ruling out an occasional exception). Quotes, on the other hand, almost require a lead-in to establish the theme of of the quotes I’ve chosen, otherwise they would just be “naked” quotes, and this is a family channel (most of the time).

    As for “that woman’s” posts, I think they’re pretty much a matter of taste – as are mine and everyone else’s, for that matter. I happened to like a good number of them, and she does have a knack for “street-scene observation” (for want of a better term), but I can see how you consider her work repetitive (especially the closer she got to her goal of 1,000 posts).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arekhill1 says:

    Sr. Muse, I apologize if I was the cause of any gnashing of teeth on your part. While forgiving and forgetting may be psychologically healthier, unrepentant brooding often makes for better literature, so carry on if you are so inclined. You may have noticed that mixed advice is a specialty of mine. Also, I apologize for taking so long to comment on this post–when I first read the title I thought it was “Outlet Mullet,” and I regard myself as completely unqualified to judge anyone else’s hair style.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mistermuse says:

    No problemo, Ricardo. In the words of those two great psychologists, Popeye and Steven Wright:

    “I yam what I yam” and “I don’t need anger management – I just need people to stop pissing me off.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Don Frankel says:

    Damn who said that? Sounds authoritative like the guy knew something.

    Here’s what has been missing from your argument, your audience. Now you may say that they can come here, as if you have some defined audience out there and there’s no new members but that wouldn’t be true. I assume when SWI gets 200,000 plus readers a year that some of them are the same, some dropped out probably because they passed away but also there are always new readers. Those new readers don’t get to see your work. What’s that got to do with Bob Grant?

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    Don, a “defined audience” (in terms of numbers) was the last thing on my mind when my posts were deleted. Call me an ARS GRATIA ARTIS elitist, but I have a love affair with my work (at least, most of it), and what pissed me off was the loss of what I’d written (except for the poems, which I’d composed on paper and typed). Yes, I could’ve preserved my posts on memory sticks or whatever, but the mass deletions happened before most of us knew what hit us, and I didn’t know jack about the mysteries of computerdom. As for Ed. Bob, he IS Speak Without Interruption; not to be snide, but other than that, you’re right – he didn’t have anything to do with it.

    To me, an “audience” consists of individuals who appreciate my work, and I hope the reverse is also true – that they want me as part of their audience because I appreciate their work. I don’t seek a mass audience – I seek individuals like you (which is not to say “the more, the merrier” isn’t a bonus).

    Like

  7. Don Frankel says:

    Muse, I’m not talking about a mass audience. But we all write for our audience. Who are they? Whoever reads and likes our work. But part of your duty as a writer and everyone who is a writer, is to try and reach them. That’s what it is all about. You have a duty to them and that includes people who haven’t read you as yet. At least I think so. And, unlike a whole lot of people I realize I could be wrong. I just don’t think so.

    I happen to like Bob a lot but in my trend of thinking Editors and anyone else other than the writer and the audience is not too important to the process. Et scriba, et aures vestrae. Write and find your audience. I think all mottoes should be in Latin. Sayings in French and cursing in English, American English preferably.

    Like

  8. mistermuse says:

    Don, the question “Who do we write for?” has been asked, I suspect, ever since it became (in part) a creative art. I might have answered that question differently a few decades ago, but at my geezer-age, I can tell you that I write without apology for myself. Of course, I put it out there and hope it finds “scroll mates.” If that approaches your “my duty…is to try to reach them,” perhaps our differences are little more than a matter of semantics.

    As for “all mottoes…in Latin,” I’m sure you know ARS GRATIA ARTIS (see my previous comment) is MGM Latin for “Art for art’s sake.” I’m not sure MGM really believed it, but it roars for me!

    Like

    • Mistermuse, I was wrong to assume you would be writing “lead-ins” for all your work. I think your titles for your poems gives me enough clues as to what you will be trying to say to your audience of readers. I know when I was writing for SWI I was thankful for comments. I was grateful for the people who took the time to say something about my work. Muse, you helped me to improve my compositions. I appreciated that help very much. So, in closing, Thank You!

      Like

  9. mistermuse says:

    An hour ago, I rec’d an email informing me of the following comment/like by “Little Monster Girl”:
    “You might want to see what they’re up to! Perhaps you will like their blog as much as they liked your comment.”
    I’m not sure what you mean, LMG, as I check your blog regularly (as I try to check the blogs of all the “Likes” posted on my posts), and I often give a “Like” (represented by the “JAZZ” icon) to their posts if I like them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

