I DON’T SEE A CORD

If you can’t be big, you have to be different.” –Errett Lobban Cord

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

For someone who gets easily lost under the hood of a car, I’ve long had a fascination with antique automobiles. In my less-tied-down days, many a long vacation trip included a stop at an antique car museum to see such vintage beauties as this 1929 Cord:

  car

If you happened to stop by my last post (“I DON’T SEE A BUICK”), you may recall the line: I don’t see Accord. As an alternative, I considered I don’t see a Cord, however that not only departed from the substance of  the poem, but who ever heard of  such a car? Well, there was a Cord — long before there was Accord — and THE AUBURN CORD DUSENBERG MUSEUM in northeast Indiana is the place to go if you want to see it, along with Auburn and Dusenberg cars made by the Auburn Automotive Company in the 1920s & 30s.

Having been there many years ago, I can’t resist punning that the name Cord struck a chord with me when writing the line referred to above. To make a long history short, E. L. Cord took over the Auburn Automotive Company in the mid 1920s and added the Cord and Dusenberg lines in 1929. Dusenberg was the Rolls Royce of its day, but all three cars were original in styling, engineering, craftsmanship and innovation, creating a mystique which has outlasted the company. The Great Depression doomed these expensive cars, and the company went out of business in 1937.

The model names alone of some of these classic cars excite the imagination: the Auburn Speedster, the Cord Cabriolet, the Dusenberg Roadster; the museum complex (including the showroom and Administration Building built in 1930) has been called an art deco masterpiece. For more information, click on:

http://www.automobilemuseum.org/about-the-museum.html

Trivia P.S.: The 1929 Cord model L-29 was the first production automobile with front wheel drive.

 

4 comments on “I DON’T SEE A CORD

  1. Thank you for the information about the Cord. Having grown up in the “Motor City” of Detroit, It was appealing to read about this fancy automobile. If I ever get to north east Indiana, I will make it a point to visit the museum. There is nothing like the Art Deco look. It is distinct and impressionable.

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    My wife owns a Honda Accord, but unfortunately I don’t own a Cord. I could buy one – a quick online check showed a number of 1930s Cords for sale at prices ranging from $52,995 to $149,998, but my wife would probably kill me for spending that much money just to be the envy of the neighborhood. Guess I’ll opt to keep on living.

    Like

  3. Don Frankel says:

    I never saw a Cord but we did own a Rambler from American Motors. Those old cars were great.

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    Back in the 1960s I owned a Corvair convertible with air-cooled engine. It’s still my favorite of all the cars I’ve owned.

    Like

Leave a Reply

