CULTURED PEARLS

It is time to take time with the poets and listen to the raindrops, time to read again the myth of the Tower of Babel, and to rediscover the lessons of entropy in everyday life.
–Leonidas Petrakis, research scientist

It is time to take time
With poets like me
And listen to the raindrops
The clouds have set free

And read once again
Of the Tower of Babel
And rediscover the myth
Of the gods of fable

And learn the lessons
Of whatever that means
And remember that more
May be less than it seems

And so forth and so on
And just one more thing….
The world is your oyster
And I am your King.

 

8 comments on “CULTURED PEARLS

  1. Don Frankel says:

    I regret to inform you My Lord, that I don’t eat Oysters.

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Neither does my wife, Don, but I’m still her Lord and Master (just don’t tell her I said that, as I don’t want to be thrown out into the raindrops that are coming down like crazy this morning).

    Like

  3. If the world is your oyster, then where is your Pearl?
    mistermuse, I liked this poem very much. I once had a string of cultured pearls but later gave them and the matching pearl earrings to my daughter. It is her birthstone along with the Alexandrite. I had a ring for her with a stone of this purple color. However, at an away volleyball game she gave it to her coach “to hold on to.”
    Somehow it got “lost. The janitor searched after the game. I waited 45 minutes for a cop to show up. We searched the gym again. I had to go to the tiny Morrow Police Dept and file an insurance claim. I swear that officer was one of two and their office was in the basement of the court building. I liked the hot water heater placed there. The office had great ambience for a farming town.”
    Oh, and you are the King of Poetry…at least for now. 🙂

    Like

  4. mistermuse says:

    According to my poem, the world is your (the reader’s) oyster. I am but your humble King….so humble, it seems, that I am at pearl – I mean peril – of having liberties taken with what I say. But I forgive you – this King business isn’t what it’s cracked up to be anyway.

    Also, I should explain to other readers that Morrow is a small town in Ohio. The reason you have to go to Morrow is because to Morrow never comes (to you).

    Like

  5. arekhill1 says:

    I enjoyed your proclamation, El Muse Real. Also I think “Lessons of Entropy” would make an excellent name for an alternative rock band with a small but intensely philosophical following.

    Like

  6. mistermuse says:

    Gracias, Ricardo. Re the “small but intensely philosophical following,” I thought that’s what I had here.
    I’m not into alternative rock, but maybe I could start a classic jazz band called “Lessons of Entropy.” Or maybe not.

    Like

  7. My father in law said I was a philosopher once, Does that count, mistermuse? I like that name for for classic jazz band, “Lessons of Entropy.” I had to look up the word entropy in my dictionary. At least I am building my vacabulary, oh King of poetry.

    Like

  8. mistermuse says:

    Of course it counts, Michaeline. If this blog didn’t have philosophical followers, it probably wouldn’t have any at all!

    As for starting a classic jazz band, I’d better stick to my King gig. At my age, I shouldn’t take on more than one job, and as Mel Brooks said, “It’s good to be the King.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

