THE BIBLE MADE ME DO IT

Hair we go again.  Remember the story which made news back in 2011 of a beard-and-hair-cutting attack by one Amish faction against members of another Amish faction? For shear cut-zpah, this topped everything….at least, by way of religious headlines:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tM6FDzTXdkU

Because the Amish believe the Bible is the holy, inerrant word of God and teaches, among other things, that hair is sacred, their men grow a beard. Cutting it is regarded as shameful; to do so forcibly is nothing less than a bald-faced assault, as a pun-loving jury found Sam Mullet and his faction guilty of in 2012:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYHzFn_LSXU

Since then, Mullet and seven of his disciples have been serving multi-year prison terms while their attorney appealed. Now comes word that, in a split-decision on August 27, a U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals overturned the convictions. While the government considers its appeal options, the defense attorney will seek to have Mullet and his fellow cut-ups released. If this happens, their victims may well find themselves running for their beards, if not their lives. Of course, horse-drawn buggies are also an option, especially for the slow-afoot.

Now you may think that if the Bible is the holy, inerrant word of God, it wouldn’t be the Scriptural equivalent of the Elephant and the Blind Men parable at best, and at worst, the Hydra it has become at the hands of every self-delusional head case in history, bearded or other-wise. To say nothing of the Koran. Is there anything man can’t or won’t screw up?

 

 

 

12 comments on “THE BIBLE MADE ME DO IT

  1. arekhill1 says:

    Hair is sacred? Even Donald Trump’s?

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Donald Trump? Speaking of head cases….

    Like

  3. Thank goodness for atheism.

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      I’m an agnostic when it comes to atheism, but I do believe the world would be a much safer place if every religious extremist woke up tomorrow morning no longer believing in God.

      Like

  4. I thought the Mullet was a weird hair style. Now you are saying Mullet and his accomplices (surely they think they accomplished something by cutting off beards) are being released by an appeal to a higher court !

    I am glad I got my haircut today and I have not grown a beard cuz I am a girl. Why bring up the Bible, the Koran and neglect the Torah? mistermuse, you are slipping here. Maybe you need a close shave? Or a haircut , too? Ha! Ha!

    You know I am just kidding around here. By the way, can I be an agnostic and believe in some sort of creative energy or force that made our universe? Science has reduced the atom, found the center, the nucleus. They examined the neutrons, went further in and found only “strings and quarks” that is, energies that cannot be explained. They were looking for the “God particle.” They are still mystified, so they are atheists. Just like my better half~~~~

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    I would’ve included the Torah, but I thought that’s where Osama bin Laden hid before he headed to Pakistan. Oh, wait, that was Tora Bora – my bad. As for “strings and quarks” and the like, all that stuff is over my head, but whoever God is, he certainly has “hide and seek” down to a science.

    And I’m glad to hear you have a better half, Michaeline….but why have you been keeping it from us all this time? 🙂

    Like

  6. Don Frankel says:

    Hiding behind the Bible or most other things as you violate the penal code doesn’t usually work but it’s just a rationale for abhorrent behavior.

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      Sometimes I think God created the human race so he could look in on us and laugh himself silly whenever he gets bored. It would explain inspiring the writing of the Bible, knowing that every latter-day Matthew, Mark, Luke, John and Mullet would do their own inspired take on it.

      Like

  7. Here I go again with my theology professors. They have done some serious research regarding the approxiate dates when the New Testaments were written. It appears they agree that the four Gospels were written by different authors at about 60 to 70 AD. Most Scolars of theology are mystified by the Revelations supposedly written by John. Many think who ever the author was must have been under the influence of some chemically induced hallucinations.

    That is, to my best knowledge, the theories projected by these dedicated scholors. Of course, they used electron microscopes to determine the age of the orignal parchment or whatever material these gospels were written upon. They also have studied as their life’s work various languages, like Aramaic and Hebrew, to name a few major ones.

    I agree with Don Frankel about “hiding behind the Bible” in order to commit a crime. In Detroit we had a saying: “Don’t do the crime if you can’t do the time.” Time, of course, meaning a jail or prison sentence.

    mistermuse, what about “my better half?’ Are you implying I have two different personalities?
    Of couse, I could just say I am a woman and subject to “moods.” Generally, I try to override my moods when I am writing something by staying logical as I can. 🙂

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      Michaeline, I don’t think this is a Revelation, but I also have two sides: my serious half and my fun (or tongue-in-cheek) half. I appreciate your good nature even when it’s hard to tell which side (or combination of both) is “inspiring” me.

      Like

  8. What else would you expect from a woman? I can be inspiring or intimindating. That is just me. Anyway, it keeps my husband on his toes long enough for me to get things done around here in our apartment. We did the grocery shopping this morning and them he took me out to Dunkin Donuts for coffee. He wanted to go to the Mall so I said go ahead. I am happy to stay home and rest.
    By the way, I forgot to mention that one of the Gospels in the New Testament was written in about 300 AD. I think that was a bit of a stretch for any apostle to write unless he got some longevity from Methuselah.
    The thing about breaking down the atom or DNA is science cannot find the source of LIFE. it seems that there is only energy there and I guess that is what “God” is all about. The Creative Energy or Cosmic Force that created and is still creating the Universe.
    As Luke Skywalker proclaimed. “May the Force be with you!”

    Like

  9. mistermuse says:

    It would be nice if the Force stayed the course (with us), but apparently we’re only along for the ride to Sooner or Later….Methuselah, of course, being among the latter living Later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

