GRUMPY MUSE

As I reported in my August 2 post CONTORTIONISTS AND DUMMIES, a congressional election in Brazil several years ago was won by a lowly professional clown named Grumpy, who ran on the slogan “It can’t get any worse.” This logic proved so unarguable that the fat-cat political clowns who ran against Grumpy lost by over a million noses.

Now I see that another Grumpy has become a celebrity, this time an author: Grumpy Cat by name (this cat’s real name is Tardar Sauce, but I suppose if humans can have pen names, why can’t cats?). According to USA Today, Grumpy Cat is just two years old and is currently on tour promoting her second book, THE GRUMPY GUIDE TO LIFE: OBSERVATIONS BY GRUMPY CAT.

Frankly, I’m jealous. I’ve been making life observations for decades longer than Grumpy Cat; even this site (called The OBSERVATION Post, need I remind you) has been petulantly observing life years longer than Grumpy — yet I labor in obscurity, while this upstart feline stars in Friskies and Honey Nut Cheerios TV commercials and gets her puss pixeled on Youtube to millions of viewers:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilZQ4xM5gY8

So, what am I going to do about it? If a clown and a cat can become Grumpy-famous, why shouldn’t a Muse? Am I a muse or a mouse? Or a mouse eating mousse? Or a mouse-eating moose eating mousse? It’s no use. I’m a wuss.

Send in the clowns.

 

 

4 comments on “GRUMPY MUSE

  1. arekhill1 says:

    I echo your complaint, Sr. Muse, but judging by the number of cat videos my friends post on my FB page, anything done by a cat, from the most cheerful to the most saturnine of the species, will draw far more hits than anything posted by a human not named Kardashian. This we must, I’m afraid, accept.

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      When Kardashian’s celebrity starts to wane, she’ll no doubt become grumpy and begin her second life as Grumpy Kardashian. How far that will take her, I don’t know, but with nine lives, Grumpy Cat looks to be in the catbird seat. Me, I’m in the bad pun seat.

      Like

  2. Don Frankel says:

    It’s something in that cat’s eyes. I think. But I hate clowns and I fear Puppets. Maybe what we need is…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1fVQGESUTo

    Like

Leave a Reply

