MISTERMUSE HAS THE BLUES

Many years fraught with working in obscurity
Have brought me naught but social insecurity.
I fear that lost ideals are beyond being revived in me —
But the thought that’s really saddening —
Even more than that, it’s maddening:
To know the woe that oh so many have been deprived of me.

 

10 comments on “MISTERMUSE HAS THE BLUES

  1. henrygame says:

    Henry read this and thought ‘is this complete?’ ‘It is seriously short, well thought, but no beat. And as far as points go, you dont seem to make one, its like your kind of abandoning, with the rhyming half done!’ But don’t take this as a negative, because Henry quite likes it, he just thinks it’d be better with a couple more rhymes spit, and a much grander narrative.

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    I see on your blog that you don’t publish complaints, which is probably a policy I should consider adopting. However, since your comment is just a partial complaint, I’ve approved it, although I’m more partial to my poem than your complaint.

    Because I take what you say as a matter of taste (which, as they say, there’s no accounting for), I will only answer that this is light verse, not written in search of “a much grander narrative.” Although I have written much longer light verse (and this poem would need to be longer if YOU were writing it), I think “brevity is the soul of wit” does the trick here.

    I’ve had many such short poems published in The Random House Treasury of Light Verse, dozens of literary journals and elsewhere, so, although I appreciate your viewpoint, I don’t see it that way.

    Thanks for taking time to comment.

    Like

    • henrygame says:

      Henry, for some reason, has only just seen this. And as for my lack of complaints, the only reason why I don’t have them, is because I don’t get them!
      I would approve almost anybodies opinion, if they took the time to read and respond…it would be the least I could do.
      I have read over what I initially commented and I believe that you may have got the wrong end of the stick my friend.
      It wasn’t a negative comment. I would call it constructive criticism. I do apologise for any miss understandings between us.
      Henry approves and cares enough to share his (limited) opinion on such things.

      Like

  3. arekhill1 says:

    I would guess I am at least as widely ignored as you are, Sr. Muse, if not more so. At least I don’t have to suck in my gut all the time for fear of paparazzi hiding in the bushes.

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      Yes, I guess we should count our blessings, Ricardo, though I’m hoping that Dr. Don can give us some advice that doesn’t suck….emphasis on GIVE, because if it’s gonna cost, it sucks.

      Like

  4. Don Frankel says:

    Et scriba, et aures vestre. All mottos need to be in Latin. But that’s one of my mottos and it means write and find your audience. If your audience is 50 people so be it. If it’s 5,000 or larger that’s great but it doesn’t matter. Just write and find them. That’s all there is for anyone.

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    Good advice, Don. In short (pig Latin): uck-say it up-lay!

    Like

  6. mistermuse, I did not think you could be sad like this, Cheer up my friend; I enjoyed your post.

    Like

  7. mistermuse says:

    Thanks, Michaeline, but not to worry. I had fun writing this sad tale.

    Like

Leave a Reply

