I’LL BE A MONKEY’S CARBUNCLE

After using the word “carbuncle” in my last post because it sounded funny, it occured to me that writers don’t use such words often enough in their attempts to keep a reader impressed with their erudition. Anyone with a thesaurus can be an oocephalus, but let’s get serious — only a real anencephalus can be scholarus and humor us. Fortuitous for you/us, I am the latter kind of phalus.

As if that weren’t felicitous enough, I’m a phalus with a famous phallus fish tale from the Pedernales River in Texas hill country. Whether or not it’s a fallacious phallus, shall us not judge:

In their motor palace,
Al and Alice Hallas
Headed west from Dallas.
Stopping halfway to Nogales,
From the Pedernales
Alice fished a phallus.

Unbeknownst to Alice,
Al was upstream phal-less,
Having sheared his chalice
Cutting off a callus,
So she threw with malice
His phallus back in ‘nales.

Now Al looks like Alice,
Although Al no gal is.

2 comments on “I’LL BE A MONKEY’S CARBUNCLE

  1. Don Frankel says:

    Dallas, phallus, Nogales, malice etc. There has to be some kind of a record here. Well done Muse,

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Not to toot my own phallus, Don, but I wrote that poem without using a rhyming dictionary – though I admit I needed help to find and define “occephalus” (an egghead) and “anencephalous” (lacking a brain, like the scarecrow in the Wizard of Ozcephalous).

    Like

Leave a Reply

