NO BRAINERS

February 27 is NO BRAINER DAY, the one day in the year which provides all the excuse I need to do a post requiring no intelligent writing on my part (as opposed to all those posts for which I had no excuse). This will be, in other words, a post of others’ words. I will, however, endeavor to be clever as ever by never resorting to quotes irrelevant to the subject of the day.

The world is more like it is now than it has ever been before. -Dwight Eisenhower

Those who survived the San Francisco earthquake said, “Thank God, I’m still alive.” But of course, those who died, their lives will never be the same again. –Calif. Senator Barbara Boxer

If you take out the killings, Washington actually has a very low crime rate. -former Washington D.C. Mayor Marion Berry

More and more of our imports are coming from overseas. –George W. Bush

A low voter turnout is an indication of fewer voters going to the polls. -Dan Quayle

If it weren’t for electricity, we’d all be watching TV by candlelight. -George Gobel

Ignorance has its virtues: without it, there would be mighty little conversation. -Evan Esar

There is nothing so stupid as the educated man, if you get off the thing he was educated in. -Will Rogers

The word ‘genius’ isn’t applicable in football. A genius is a guy like Norman Einstein. -Joe Theisman

Sometimes they write what I say and not what I mean. -Pedro Guerrero

I’ve never had major knee surgery on any other part of my body. –Winston Bennet

Most ignorance is vincible ignorance: we don’t know because we don’t want to know. -Aldous Huxley

6 comments on “NO BRAINERS

  1. Don Frankel says:

    At first I was thinking no Yogisms? But then Yogisms make sense when you think about them. Like “Some guys don’t like to swing on 3 and 0 because they swing.” But today is a day I can relate to and will enjoy. Because “You can’t hit and think at the same time.”

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    In a way, these quotes make sense too if you think about them, otherwise they wouldn’t be funny. I would’ve included some Yogisms (and Goldwynisms), but I’ve already done posts on them on SWI. Whether they still exist or not, I haven’t checked, but maybe I’ll do so and, if they’ve been deleted, repeat them here (as best I can) when my brain can’t think of anything else to write about.

    Like

  3. arekhill1 says:

    Personally, I notice that I can only be wrong when I’m sure I’m right.

    Like

  4. pat hagan says:

    There’s a lot of unintentionally funny stuff here, most of which I hadn’t heard or seen before. I imagine that you are well aware of this, but, just to be sure all are, Gobel, Esar, and Rogers were not being stupid… they were intentionally being clever and funny.

    Keep up the good work!

    Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    Right, Pat. Of course, Aldous Huxley wasn’t being unintentionally funny either – in fact, he wasn’t being funny at all. That’s why I saved his quote for last, to end on a serious note.

    Thanks for your comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

