HOOK, LINE & STINKER OF A POEM

After our friend Don “SWI” Frankel requested a Christmas poem, I begged off in favor of a Christmas short story (COMES CHRISTMAS, posted Dec. 23), and he kindly left me “off the hook” until the New Year, which now seems to be upon us.

Be careful what you fish for….
That is, assuming that you fish.

Be careful what you cheer for….
That is, assuming that you cheer….

Be careful what you wish for….
That is, assuming that you wish —

Which I do, so my wish for you
Is unaba(i)ted cheer throughout the new year.

HAPPY NEW YEAR, DON AND ALL!

2 comments on “HOOK, LINE & STINKER OF A POEM

  1. Don Frankel says:

    I’m not sorry I asked. I think this is where you ask and then receive. Thank you Muse.

    You know I think we learn as we go. So far I’ve figured a few things out since I’ve signed onto SWI. The biggest one is that the journey of a writer in part is to find your audience. What its size is doesn’t really matter, You just have to find them. SWI is an outlet. One I happen to love but it still at the end of the day, is just an outlet. It’s the audience that matters.

    Happy New Year or as we say in certain sections of my family Bonne Annee!

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Don, I certainly agree that finding your audience is part of the writer’s journey and its size doesn’t really matter (unless it’s zero). I had found my audience for years (literary journals and poetry magazines), but it was a “paper” audience, now mostly gone with the internet….which, having had my 15 minutes of fame, I accepted. Then Bob Grant came along and invited writers, including me, to join SWI, and I mistakenly assumed he wanted “quality” writers, had a high regard for writing as an art and/or craft, and would value (or at least respect) what his writers wrote. Well, he did get some quality writers (yourself included), but I question the rest of it, as well as his playing favorites. Yes, that’s his prerogative as editor, and I could have accepted it, had he been upfront and explained why he did the meltdown so inequitably.

    Sorry for the rant, but that’s my take on Bob Grant/SWI and the reason why I won’t post there again, though I’ll continue to follow it from “The Observation Post.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

