HEAR YE THE POET TREE?

If a poem
Falls to the ground
And there’s no one
There to hear it,
Does it make a sound
Case for fruitless
Echoes to resound
If only in spirit?

5 comments on “HEAR YE THE POET TREE?

  1. Don Frankel says:

    The answer to the question if the tree falls in the forest and there is no one there to hear it, does it make a sound is no. The tree falling sends out sound waves but if there is nothing there to catch the waves then no the don’t make a sound. They just disappear. And, if a poet doesn’t have people read his poems then I guess they don’t make a sound either. This one makes a great sound but your fans don’t get to hear it.

    If they cut out 200 ;pages from one of my novels I’d have a fit. The articles I write on SWI are not the same thing as my fiction to me so if I lose a few it’s no big deal. So while I can’t feel your pain I can relate. But sooner or later you’ve got to come back to the Pack. And, no I won’t bug you abut this every time I come here. But I won’t leave you alone either.

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      Don, it’s good to know that I’ll never be alone. And, though I may not “come back,” neither am I going away. Look for the same lovable creativity in my comments to SWI posts as always – sort of like Groucho telling Margaret Dumont in NIGHT AT THE OPERA, “When I invite a woman to dinner, I expect her to look at my face. That’s the price she has to pay!”

      Like

  2. If the writer falls in here,
    And there’s no one there to hand him his beer
    Are AA meetings drawing near?

    Is that one a haiku? First one I’ve written since high school.

    Just posted it here so you know you don’t have any competition worth worrying about, Sr. Muse.

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      Ricardo, I’m not saying your haiku doesn’t add a certain something to this post, but I got even by adding a poem to your latest SWI post (and I don’t even expect a tip for my trouble).

      Like

  3. […] first item in my rear view mirror is Don Frankel’s 10/31 comment to my HEAR YE THE POET TREE post, in which he answered “no” to the question of whether a tree falling in the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

