HIGH AND LOW

CATHEDRAL

Holy is the mountain
To spirits dwelling there;
Wild are the birds and beasts
Which ride and breathe its air.

Endless are the glories
Of rock and spire and space;
Soulless is the man who
Would desecrate this place.

COST OF LIVING

The believer is happy; the doubter is wise.
–Hungarian proverb

Once I was happy;
Now I am wise.
Once I believed
Both truth and lies.
Now I doubt both….
And wisdom cries.

2 comments on “HIGH AND LOW

  1. 2zpoint says:

    I loved the rhythm and truth behind the words to “Cathedral” Excellent poem…it has very a memorable second verse. Peace be with you and have a happy holiday season!

    Like

  2. mistermuse says:

    Thanks for your kind comment. It is good to know that my words “connect” with you. Although I’m not always prompt in replying, I do appreciate thoughtful responses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

