OCTOBER OCTET

WRY ME?

Want to write wry verse?
There’s nothing to it:
Nail down the truth….
And then unscrew it.

A VERY SHORT, PASSIONATE POEM

Would I lie to you?

WIT MAN, POOR MAN

“You can pretend to be serious, but
you cannot pretend to be witty.”

–Sacha Guitry

Although wit may have its place,
It’s scant worth a whit (in money).
As the mirror said to my face,
Look – ’tis folly to be funny.

WHY THEY CALL IT THE COMMON COLD

No one nose
(I suppose).

WHAT HAPPENED ON THE SOAPS

Affairs.
Who cares?

UNDER ACHIEVER

Everything’s been done before, m’ luv –
It’s hard to be that original….
Unless a bloke’s the first-born of
An Australian aboriginal.

TO BE FAIR

This is not
a good poem.

LOVE’S LABOR

4 comments on “OCTOBER OCTET

  1. Jingle says:

    to make yourself visible in our community,
    share your poetry with us.
    love your work here.
    keep writing.

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      I greatly appreciate your support, but hardly need encouragement to “keep writing,” as I’ve been doing so for so long that many of the small literary journals which have published my work over the years are now out of business! In fact, some of my poems which appeared here over the past year were first published in the 1990s – I’ve been mixing them in with new ones like SPIT TUNE, my latest blog entry (WORLD SERIES WATERSHED MOMENTS). Either way, I hope Jingle will continue to “love your (my) work” and I thank you again.

      Like

  2. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/thursday-poets-rally-week-32-november-4-10/
    you are represented as fresh poets to explore at our Poets Rally week 32.
    you will get some traffic when poets visit you…
    I invite you to become a participant, which helps you get poetry awards upon making a minimum 18 comments to participants.
    Thanks for the considerations. Link in a poem via commenting under the post when you are ready.
    Happy Thursday!
    xxx

    Like

    • mistermuse says:

      I have indeed gotten traffic from visiting poets, for which I thank you, as well as for the invite. Due to constraints both time-wise & otherwise, active participation in your Thursday Rally weeks is problematic for me, but I do expect to (from time to time) check out the postings of those poets whose work interests me (I admit to being discriminating). Speaking of participation, I’m curious as to the basis for the minimum of 18 comments (not that I necessarily having anything against an arbitrary number, if that’s what it is).

      Like

Leave a Reply

