COMFORT ZONE ALARM

Shortly after I became an ex-Catholic, my non-Catholic son-in-law asked why I’d remained in the Church so many years. Off the top of my head, I replied that I was brainwashed. I could’ve added that, possibly, that was the same reason he remained ideologically conservative all his life.

Yet, I doubt that such an observation would have led him to consider re-examining his own thinking. In my experience, even very intelligent people like him seldom change their mindset – they’re so invested in what they’ve been and where they are. And, to be honest, maybe it’s just as well.

We can theorize that self-questioning of entrenched views would lead automatically to a better place. Granted, it could lead you to a more open place, a wiser place, but a better place (if you equate better with more comfortable), probably not. There is nothing comfortable about realizing that everything you believed (or, at least, hoped) was gospel, is not. I would hate to think I caused someone I love to abandon their black & white comfort zone for a gray area they may not be equipped to face. An evangelizer, I am not. But if I were, I would challenge you to ask why you don’t challenge at least some of your own assertions.

Even I’m not right 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

