POETRY MODESTY

I DOUBT YOU’LL LIKE THIS POEM

The trouble with the world is that the stupid are
cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt.
— Bertrand Russell

B. R.’s declaration, made with what some might call hauteur,
Might be less compromised were his manner more unsure.
Not falling into one’s own pigeonhole is vital ….
Even when thinking up this lowly poem’s title.

CATCH OF THE DAY

They say most people believe
you are what you say you are.
I am a poet.
Not a celebrated poet – just a poet, a fisher of words
from passing streams …. though I’ve misplaced
my poetic license, and the question surfaces:
Why am I still casting about?
On one of these fishing forays, I could be caught
up the creek without an inkling, words may fail me
and the license I can’t find may have expired,
leaving my Muse and my demons to debate cutting
me some slack over a lousy piece of official paper.

what can I say?

One comment on “POETRY MODESTY

  1. Jaymie says:

    You couldn’t be more wrong…love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

